Education award evening 2019

Rotherham United Community Sports Trust once again hosted their annual education awards evening last week, the night highlighted and celebrated the individuals who have excelled in their studies and on the sporting field.

Over 100 students attended the event in the 1925 suite at the New York Stadium, making this year’s event the most attended yet. The attendees were able to enjoy an award ceremony and disco allowing for a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate their achievements during the educational year. On the night the main educational winners were Emily Scrivens (overall student of the year), Will Barber (Trust Involvement Award) and Connor Herbert (Dedication award). While picking up the footballing awards were Josh Taylor (Men’s A-Squad POTS), Connor Brooke (Men’s B-Squad POTS), Abi Shepherd (Female POTS) and Kieran Cartwright (top Goal-Scorer).

James Mahoney Education manager at RUCST said ‘It was a privilege for me to share the celebrations with our students at the annual awards evening. The event demonstrated the high level of commitment and success our students have achieved, and it is fantastic to celebrate key achievements. The event also highlights the encouragement and support from the education team at the trust who play a pivotal role in the success of the Academy as a whole. We aspire to provide our students with a first-class education and experience, I look forward to seeing even more of our learners celebrating success in the future’.

There are still places for our 2019/20 courses, for more information on the courses we offer visit Call our education team on 01709 827767 or email

The full list of winners for both the football and educational awards reads like:


–              Level 1 Student of the Year – Vinh Van Bui

–              Level 3 (Group 1) Student of the Year – Liam Napper

–              Level 3 (Group 2) Student of the Year – George Hirst

–              Level 3 (Group 3) Student of the Year – Karolina Chudzikiewicz

–              Overall Student of the Year – Emily Scrivens

–              Overall Attendance – Callum Jordan / Michael Mortimer

–              Trust Involvement Award – Will Barber

–              Dedication Award – Connor Herbert


–          Male A-Squad Player of the Season – Josh Taylor

–          Male B-Squad Player of the Season – Connor Brooke

–          Female Player of the Season – Abi Shepherd

–          Top Goal-Scorer – Kieran Cartwright

–          Recognition for Sport – Marian Ungureanu

8cf043c3-4598-49a3-8e75-ff62368eb6d8 5db29fbf-6814-42bb-a7a7-df5a53680a28 Untitled,-1 Untitled-1k Untitled-1 Un ntitled-1 Unti  tled-1 Untimtled-1 Untitl ed-1 Untitled-,1 8cf043c3-4598-49a3-8e75-ff62368eb6d8 5db29fbf-6814-42bb-a7a7-df5a53680a28